

Executive Committee Minutes

May 4, 2017 9:37 a.m. Council Chambers Walkerton, Ontario

- Present: Warden Mitch Twolan (Chair) Councillors Robert Buckle, Paul Eagleson, Milt McIver and Mike Smith Alternate Councillors Jacqueline Faubert & Dan Gieruszak
- Staff: Kelley Coulter, Chief Administrative Officer Darlene Batte, Deputy Clerk Eleanor MacEwen, Communications and Corporate Reporting Specialist Donna Van Wyck, Clerk Anne Marie Collins, Archivist
- **Regrets:** Councillors Anne Eadie, David Inglis & Janice Jackson

1. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

2. Presentation

A. Launch of Mental Health Program

The following staff joined the meeting for the official launch of Bruce County's Workplace Mental Health Program: Marianne Nero, Eleanor MacEwen, Emily Paterson, John Van Delden, Bettyanne Cobean, Ann-Marie Collins, Rachel Hepburn, Michael Kirkpatrick, Brian Knox, Chris LaForest, Melissa Legacy, Christine MacDonald, Cathy McGirr and Charlie Young. Dr. Christine Kennedy, Medical Officer of Health was in attendance for the official launch of this program.

The Executive Committee recessed at 9:55 a.m. and reconvened at 10:20 a.m.

B. Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology Inc. (SWIFT) Update

Mr. Geoff Hogan, Interim Executive Director provided the Committee with an update on the SWIFT Initiative.

Kara Van Myall and Jill Roote joined the meeting at 10:20 a.m. Kara Van Myall withdrew from the Chambers at 10:45 a.m.

Alternate Councillor Dan Gieruszak withdrew from the Chambers at 10:40 a.m.

Marianne Nero rejoined the meeting at 11:00 a.m.

- 3. Action Items
- A. Code of Conduct for Members of Council

Moved by Councillor Mike Smith Seconded by Councillor Milt McIver

That a by-law be introduced to adopt the Code of Conduct for members of Bruce County Council; and,

That by-law number 4393 be repealed.

Carried

B. Office of the Integrity Commissioner

Moved by Councillor Robert Buckle Seconded by Councillor Mike Smith

That a by-law be introduced establishing the Office of an Integrity Commissioner to perform functions with respect to the application of the Code of Conduct for Members of Council, and other rules or policies governing their ethical behavior.

Carried

C. Fees and Charges By-law Amendment

Moved by Councillor Mike Smith Seconded by Councillor Paul Eagleson

That a by-law be introduced to establish fees and charges for the Corporation of the County of Bruce; and,

That by-law number 2017-020 be repealed.

D. Carried Bruce County 150th Celebration Update

Moved by Councillor Mike Smith Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle

That the Official Site for the Art Installation be the Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre, Southampton followed by the Bruce County Administration Centre, Walkerton, subject to movability.

Carried

4. Closed Meeting

Moved by Alternate Councillor Jacqueline Faubert Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle

That the Committee move into a closed meeting pursuant to:

Section 239. (2) (b) of the Municipal Act, personal matters about an identifiable individual, including municipal or local board employees; and,

Section 239 (3.1) for the purpose of educating or training the members.

Carried

5. Rise and Report

Moved by Councillor Mike Smith Seconded by Councillor Paul Eagleson

That the Committee rise and report from the closed meeting.

Carried

Darlene Batte rejoined the meeting at 11:29 a.m.

The Warden reported that staff were given direction in closed session.

6. Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Executive Committee will take place on Thursday, June 1, 2017, in the Council Chambers, County Administration Centre, Walkerton, Ontario.

7. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Robert Buckle Seconded by Councillor Mike Smith

That the meeting of the Executive Committee adjourn at 11:30 a.m.

Carried

Warden Mitch Twolan, Chair Executive Committee