

Bruce County Council Minutes

The regular meeting of Bruce County Council was held in the County of Bruce Council Chambers, Walkerton at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, April 6, 2017.

1. Roll Call

Present: Warden Mitch Twolan

Councillors David Inglis, Robert Buckle, Anne Eadie, Paul Eagleson, Janice

Jackson and Mike Smith

Staff: Kelley Coulter, CAO

Darlene Batte, Deputy Clerk

Bettyanne Cobean, Director of Corporate Services

Brian Knox, Engineer

Christine MacDonald, Director of Social Services and Housing

Cathy McGirr, Museum Director

Marianne Nero, Director of Human Resources

Donna Van Wyck, Clerk

Charles Young, Director of Health Services

Regrets: Councillor Milt McIver, Chris LaForest, Director of Planning, Melissa Legacy,

Director of Library Services

2. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

3. Minutes

Moved by Councillor Janice Jackson Seconded by Councillor Mike Smith

That the minutes of the March 2, 2017 Council Session be adopted as circulated.

Carried

4. Communications

A. Ministry of Education

Responding to communications and resolutions related to the impacts of recent pupil accommodation reviews, particularly in Ontario's rural and remote communities and advising that the government will launch an engagement on new approaches to support education in rural and remote communities this spring.

B. City of Kingston

Resolution requesting the Parliament adopt Bill C-323 An Act to Amend the Income Tax Act (Rehabilitation of Historic Property)

C. Northeastern Manitoulin & the Islands

Resolution requesting that the Province of Ontario treat all of Ontario Hydro's customers equally and eliminate the delivery fees for residents of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands and that Ontario Hydro explain to the municipalities which cost costing measures or alternative revenue sources will be put in place to replace the revenue losses it experiences from the elimination of the delivery charge to its customers.

D. Regional Municipality of Peel

Resolution requesting the Premier of Ontario and the Minister of Health and Long Term Care, whose mandate it is to protect the health of Ontarians, (i) to undertake appropriate and comprehensive toxicity testing necessary to reassure the public that the use of HFSA in water fluoridation treatments is safe; and (ii) take legislative responsibility for the regulation and administration of HFSA in water fluoridation treatments across the province relieving local governments from what is a provincial responsibility.

E. Township of Southgate

Resolution supporting the Counties of Grey and Bruce urging the Minister of Education to rewrite the Pupil Accommodation Review Guideline (PARG), to take into consideration community and economic value consideration of rural communities and provide for a more democratic process.

F. Town of Ingersoll/ Middlesex Centre / Thames Centre / Township of Zorra / Township of East Zorra-Tavistock

Resolution requesting that the Premier and Minister of Education develop a policy that enables all schools and school boards in Ontario, including the Thames Valley District School Board, that allows individual elementary and secondary schools to have Automated External Defibrillators (AED) in their schools

G. Family of the Late Audrey Underwood

Expressing appreciation to the County for the flowers sent in memory of Audrey. (mother of Ray Underwood, Highways)

5. Delegations

A. Bruce Power Update

James Scongack, Vice President, Corporate Affairs presented an update on Bruce Power activities.

B. Bruce County Public Speaking Competition Winning Speeches

Junior Division - Chelby Morris representing Port Elgin Saugeen Central presented her speech on Ruby Bridges,

Intermediate Division - Kate Leppington, Ripley Huron Community School presented her speech on self-esteem.

Emily Miller - St. Joseph's, Port Elgin presented her speech on "Explore the Bruce"

Following the speeches, Warden Twolan made a presentation to the three speakers.

C. Huron Resolve Recognition

Ms. Stephanie Murray, Bruce Power provided comments on the Huron Resolve Exercise last fall and acknowledged the County's participation in this exercise with a plaque.

6. Staff Reports

There were no County Staff reports.

7. Inquiries and Announcements

There were no inquiries or announcements.

8. Committee Minutes

Moved by Councillor Janice Jackson Seconded by Councillor Mike Smith

That the minutes of the following meetings be approved:

March 2, 2016

- Executive Committee
- Corporate Services Committee
- Human Resources Committee
- Homes Committee
- Paramedic Services Committee
- Museum Committee
- Social Services and Housing Committee

March 16, 2017

- Planning & Development Committee
- Highways Committee
- Human Resources Committee

Carried

9. Notice of Motion

There were no Notice of motions.

10. Other Business

There was no other business.

11. By-laws

Moved by Councillor David Inglis Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle

That the following by-laws be approved:

2017 - 023 - A by-law to designate a Head for the purposes of the Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, 1990

2017 - 024 - A by-law to govern the proceedings of the Council and Committees of the Corporation of the County of Bruce.

2017 - 025 - A by-law to regulate the lands known as the "Bruce County Trail" and "County Forests"

2017 - 026 - A by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the Corporation of the County of Bruce at its meeting held the 6th day of April, 2017

Carried

12. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Robert Buckle Seconded by Councillor David Inglis

That the meeting of Bruce County Council adjourn at 10:40 a.m.

Carried	
Mitch Twolan, Warden	
Donna Van Wyck, Clerk	