

Executive Committee Closed Minutes

February 1, 2018 10:56 a.m. Council Chambers Walkerton, Ontario

Present: Warden Paul Eagleson, (Chair)

Councillors Robert Buckle, Anne Eadie, David Inglis, Janice Jackson, Milt

McIver, Mike Smith and Mitch Twolan

Staff: Kelley Coulter, Chief Administrative Officer

Chris LaForest, Strategic Initiatives Specialist

Matthew Meade, Research Analyst

Kara Van Myall, Director of Planning and Development

Donna Van Wyck, Clerk

Stellina Williams, Business Investment Specialist, Energy Sector

1. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

2. Minutes

Moved by Councillor Mike Smith Seconded by Councillor Dave Inglis

That the minutes of the November 2, 2017 closed meeting be adopted as circulated.

Carried

Centre of Excellence

The CAO spoke to her report providing an update on the Centre of Excellence for Bruce County.

The County will be submitting an application to the Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development under the Labour Market Demand Program that will secure between \$100,000 and \$200,000 to progress the plan including the characteristics for the Centre and the full business plan.

Bruce Power has committed to build a facility in Southampton. The MaRS group from Toronto have been in discussion to utilize the facility to bring together educators, researchers, social scientists, entrepreneurs and business experts to advance knowledge, innovation and creativity. Skilled Trades in-career education will also be included.

Chris LaForest, Matthew Meade, Kara Van Myall and Stellina Williams withdrew from the chambers at 11:35 a.m.

4. Land Claim Update

5. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Mitch Twolan Seconded by Councillor Milt McIver

That the meeting of the Executive Committee adjourn at 11:42 a.m.

Carried

Warden Paul Eagleson, Chair Executive Committee