

Bruce County Council Minutes

The regular meeting of Bruce County Council was held in the County of Bruce Council Chambers, Walkerton at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, November 2, 2017.

1. Roll Call

Present: Warden Mitch Twolan

Councillors Robert Buckle, Anne Eadie, Paul Eagleson, David Inglis, Milt McIver

and Mike Smith

Staff: Kelley Coulter, CAO

Darlene Batte, Deputy Clerk

Bettyanne Cobean, Director of Corporate Services

Brian Knox, Engineer

Chris LaForest, Director of Planning

Melissa Legacy, Director of Library Services

Christine MacDonald, Director of Social Services & Housing

Cathy McGirr, Museum Director

Michael McKeage, Director of Health Services Marianne Nero, Director of Human Resources

Donna Van Wyck, Clerk

Regrets: Councillor Janice Jackson

2. Remembrance Day

Council observed a minute of silence in honour of Remembrance Day.

3. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

4. Minutes

Moved by Councillor Paul Eagleson Seconded by Councillor Anne Eadie

That the minutes of the October 5, 2017 Council Session be adopted as circulated.

Carried

5. Communications

A. Ministry of Education

Inviting feedback on the proposed revisions to the Pupil Accommodation Review Guideline and Community Planning and Partnerships Guideline

B. Ministry of Finance

In April 2017, the federal government introduced legislation to legalize and regulate non-medical cannabis across Canada, and has firmly stated its intention to have the legislation in force by July 2018. In preparation for the implementation of the proposed retail and distribution system Ministry of Finance staff, together with the LBCO will begin direct engagement with municipalities on how stores may be located for July 2018.

6. Delegations

There were no delegations.

7. Staff Reports

There were no County Staff reports.

8. Inquiries and Announcements

The Warden introduced and welcomed Mr. Harold G. Elston, the new Integrity Commissioner for the County of Bruce.

9. Committee Minutes

Moved by Councillor Anne Eadie Seconded by Councillor Paul Eagleson

That the minutes of the following meetings be approved:

October 5, 2017

- Executive Committee
- Corporate Services Committee
- Homes Committee
- Museum Committee
- Paramedic Services Committee

October 12, 2017

Corporate Services Committee

October 19, 2017

- Highways Committee
- Human Resources Committee
- Museum Committee
- Planning and Development Committee
- Social Services & Housing Committee

Carried

10.	Notice of Motion
	There were no Notice of motions.
11.	Other Business
	There was no other business.
12.	By-laws
	Moved by Councillor David Inglis Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle
	That the following by-laws be approved:
	2017-068 - A by-law to appoint Harold G. Elston as Integrity Commissioner for the Corporation of the County of Bruce
	2017-069 - A By-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the Corporation of the County of Bruce at its meeting held the 2nd day of November, 2017
	Carried
13.	Adjournment
	Moved by Councillor Robert Buckle Seconded by Councillor David Inglis
	That the meeting of Bruce County Council adjourn at 9:37 a.m.
	Carried

Mitch Twolan, Warden

Donna Van Wyck, Clerk