

### **Highways Committee Minutes**

November 2, 2017 11:00 a.m. Council Chambers Walkerton, Ontario

**Present:** Warden Mitch Twolan

Councillors Paul Eagleson, (Chair), Robert Buckle, Anne Eadie, David

Inglis, Milt McIver and Mike Smith

**Staff:** Kelley Coulter, Chief Administrative Officer

Darlene Batte, Deputy Clerk

Brian Knox, Engineer

**Regrets:** Councillor Janice Jackson

#### 1. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

#### 2. Action Items

#### A. McCurdy Bridge Reconstruction

Moved by Councillor David Inglis Seconded by Councillor Anne Eadie

That a by-law be introduced to authorize the Engineer to execute all closing documents necessary to effect the acquisition of two large parcels of land, designated as Parcel 1, Parts 2, 3 and 4 of Reference Plan 3R-10026 and Parcel 2, Part 1 of Reference Plan 3R-10026 and Part 1 of Reference Plan 3R-9771 to facilitate the reconstruction of the McCurdy Bridge, and authorizing the County to pay all legal costs, including the sellers' legal costs, and any HST associated with same; and,

That the County's portion of the total project cost in the amount of \$3,601,761.47 be funded from the Bridge Reserve; and,

That the McCurdy Bridge reconstruction contract be awarded to the low tenderer, Owen King Construction Ltd.; and,

That the contract administration for the McCurdy Bridge reconstruction be assigned to B.M. Ross and Associates of Goderich; and,

That a by-law be introduced to authorize the Warden and Clerk to execute the cost-sharing agreement between the Municipalities of Brockton and Arran-Elderslie, and the County of Bruce; and,

That By-law 2016-053 be repealed.

Carried

# 3. Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Highways Committee will take place on Thursday, November 16, 2017 in the Council Chambers, County of Bruce Administration, Walkerton, Ontario.

## 4. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Anne Eadie Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle

That the meeting of the Highways Committee adjourn at 11:19 a.m.

Carried
Councillor Paul Eagleson, Chair
Highways Committee