

Bruce County Council Minutes

The regular meeting of Bruce County Council was held in the Council Chambers, County of Bruce Administration Centre, Walkerton, Ontario at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, September 6, 2018.

- 1. Roll Call
- Present: Warden Paul Eagleson Councillors Robert Buckle, Anne Eadie, Janice Jackson, Milt McIver and Mike Smith and Mitch Twolan Alternate Councillor Dan Gieruszak
- Staff:Christine MacDonald, Acting Chief Administrative Officer
Darlene Batte, Deputy Clerk
Nicole Charles, Director of Library Services
Tania Dickson, Acting Director of Human Services
Bettyanne Cobean, Director of Corporate Services
Cathy McGirr, Museum Director
Michael McKeage, Director of Health Services
Marianne Nero, Director of Human Resources
Miguel Pelletier, Director of Transportation and Environmental Services
Kara Van Myall, Director of Planning and Development
Donna Van Wyck, Clerk
- Regrets: Councillor David Inglis, Kelley Coulter, Chief Administrative Officer
- 2. Pecuniary Interest

Councillors Mitch Twolan and Anne Eadie declared a pecuniary interest in relation to Item 4A. Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology (SWIFT) Update.

3. Minutes

Moved by Councillor Mike Smith Seconded by Councillor Anne Eadie

That the minutes of the August 2, 2018 Council Session be adopted as circulated.

Carried

- 4. Communications
- A. Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology (SWIFT) Update
- B. County of Oxford SouthwestLynx: Integrated High-Performance Public Transportation for Southwestern Ontario
 Re: Requesting support of Oxford County's SouthwestLynx proposal for the development of an Integrated High-Performance Public Transportation Solution for Southwestern Ontario.

Referred to the Transportation and Environmental Services Committee

- C. Board of Health for the Grey Bruce Health Unit Letter to Minister of Children, Community and Social Services Re: Provincial announcement of government's intention to cancel Ontario's Basic Income Pilot and reverse planned updates to social assistance programs.
- D. Municipality of Brockton Re: Walkerton Courthouse Building - building deficiencies and security

Referred to the Corporate Services Committee

E. Municipality of Brockton Re: Relocating EarlyOn Program from Walkerton to Chesley

Referred to the Human Services Committee

F. Township of Selwyn - Resolution re: Provincial Agricultural Systems Mapping

Requesting the Provincial Government review the rationale and research that drove the decision to implement the new Agricultural Systems mapping that expanded prime agricultural land designations

5. Delegations

A. Tania Gilchrist has been awarded the Sovereign's Medal for Volunteers

Warden Eagleson introduced Mrs. Tania Gilchrist a volunteer at the Bruce County Museum and Cultural Centre and recipient of the Sovereign's Medal for Volunteers. Warden Eagleson noted that this official Canadian honour recognizes exceptional volunteer achievements from across the country or abroad in a wide range of fields.

A presentation was made to Mrs. Gilchrist in recognition of this outstanding achievement.

Lise Morton, VP of Nuclear Waste Management at Ontario Power Generation

Ms. Lise Morton, VP of Nuclear Waste Management at Ontario Power Generation and Mr. Gary Meneely presented an update on OPG's activities in this area, including initiatives involving the Western Waste Management Facility at the Bruce Nuclear site and the Deep Geologic Repository project.

6. Staff Reports

A. Council Orientation - November 22, 2018

The staff report on Council Orientation was received for information.

7. Inquiries and Announcements

Warden Eagleson acknowledged and extended birthday wishes to Susan Petrik, Deputy Treasurer.

Councillor Janice Jackson joined the meeting at 9:50 a.m.

8. Committee Minutes

Moved by Councillor Anne Eadie Seconded by Councillor Mike Smith

That the minutes of the following meetings be approved:

August 2, 2018

- Corporate Services Committee
- Executive Committee
- Homes Committee
- Human Resources Committee
- Human Services Committee
- Museum Committee
- Transportation and Environmental Services Committee

August 9, 2018

- Homes Committee
- Planning and Development Committee
- Transportation and Environmental Services Committee

Carried

9. Notice of Motion

There was no Notice of Motion.

10. Other Business

There was no other business.

11. By-laws

Moved by Councillor Mitch Twolan Seconded by Councillor Milt McIver

That the following by-laws be approved:

2018-056 - A by-law to repeal By-law Number 2018-042 being a by-law to authorize the execution of an Ontario Transfer Payment Agreement between the Housing Services Corporation and the County of Bruce for the GreenON Social Housing Program

2018-057 - A by-law to adopt Amendment Number 230 to the County of Bruce Official Plan.

2018-058 - A by-law to adopt Amendment Number 234 to the County of Bruce Official Plan.

2018-059 - A by-law to declare Plan 205 Part Lot 224 RP 3R-1248 Part 1, known as 203 Mill Road, in the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie as surplus and authorize the transfer to The Corporation of the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie.

2018-060 - A by-law to authorize the execution of an agreement between the Corporation of the County of Bruce and the Corporation of the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie regarding the property known as Plan 205 Part Lot 224 RP 3R-1248 Part 1, 203 Mill Road in the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie.

2018-061 - A by-law to stop up and permanently close the former Bruce Road 1 road section from Highway 9 in the Hamlet of Kinloss, northerly approximately 564 meters and described as Parts 3, 4 5, 6 and 7 being Part of PIN 33231-0001 on Registered Plan 3R-10097.

2018-062 - A by-law to authorize the execution of an agreement between the Corporation of the County of Bruce and Epcor Natural Gas Limited Partnership, by its general partner Epcor Ontario Utilities Inc. for a 20 year Franchise Agreement.

2018-063 - A By-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the Corporation of the County of Bruce at its meeting held the 6th day of September, 2018

Carried

12. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Milt McIver Seconded by Councillor Mitch Twolan

That the meeting of Bruce County Council adjourn at 9:54 a.m.

Carried

Paul Eagleson, Warden

Donna Van Wyck, Clerk